#EndSARS: Lagos Judicial Panel awards N10m to two petitioners

The Lagos State Judicial Panel of Enquiry and Restitution for Victims of Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) related abuses and the Lekki Tollgate Incident has awarded N10million each to two victims of police brutality.

In its first financial award since the now eight-member panel was inaugurated last October 19, it awarded N10m as compensation to the family of the late Mrs. Kudirat Adebayo Abayomi, who was killed by a police stray bullet in April 2017.
It also awarded scholarships for the education of her children.

The panel further recommended the prosecution of the police officers responsible for her death and ordered the police authorities to tender a letter of apology to the deceased’s family.

The second award was made to a 35-year-old hairdresser, Hannah Olugbode, who has been on crutches since her left leg was shattered by a stray bullet fired by a SARS officer around the Ijeshatedo area of Lagos.

N10 million was awarded to her for the stress and anxiety she suffered and to help her undergo treatment.

The panel comprises Chairman, Justice Doris Okuwobi (Rtd); Mr Ebun Adegboruwa (SAN); Mr Taiwo Lakanu, a retired Deputy Inspector-General of Police and a founding member of SARS.

Other panelists are Mrs Oluwatoyin Odusanya, Director, Lagos State Directorate of Citizen’s Rights and Ms Patience Udoh, a representative of the civil society groups Mr Segun Awosanya (segalink); Mr Lucas Koyejo and a youth representative Temitope Majekodunmi.

A second youth representative Rinu Oduala, pulled out on February 12.

-The Nation

Leave A Comment